Podcast episode 133 is available by clicking below.  It is also available on iTunes, Pocket Cast, and Spotify under the travel architect.

Just back from Portugal, we naturally start off talking about . . . laundry. The joke is about laundry and the National Day is about laundry, but luckily I find a tenuous connection between laundry and travel, so it works. Similarly, when you hear that the Travel Quiz is about a European explorer, you’ll automatically assume it’ll be about one of the many Portuguese explorers from the Age of Discovery. Alas, you’ll be wrong. Our downturned thumbs turned to horizontal “maybes” when we imagine the Bucket List destination as something to watch rather than participate in. After that it’s a jumble of updates: Namibia and its relation to FOODAPARI, how you should always check your safe before you travel, how you should get a safe if you don’t have one, the correct pronunciation—finally!—of Uluru, a useful Facebook page to follow, and a must-have travel product that I’m not letting myself have. Probably. Then, just as we get to the point where we can start talking Portugal… time’s up.

Episode 133: Suffering from FOODAPARI

Previous blog posts referenced or hinted at in this episode:

9 thoughts

      1. It’s a good one, though. And as far as places becoming too popular – you just have to go when you can, before it gets even more crowded. Always a moving target.

        Like

  1. Binged a few episodes of your podcast this past week – always entertaining! Can’t remember which episode you asked the question on, but yes, I have a safe. And yes, I keep my passport in it. But no, I don’t keep all the random bills and coins from over two dozen foreign currencies in there. It’s all just in a drawer. Besides Canadian money and Euros, I doubt I’ll ever use any of it again. Also, I’m surprised that you order Euros still instead of just withdrawing from an ATM in-country on a no-ATM-fee debit card (like Charles Schwab). It’s so convenient and I don’t ever have to worry about losing a large wad of cash. Also, back in 2004, I sent my passport via local HONDURAN delivery service to the US embassy in-country to get more pages sown in and I showed up in person to pick it up the day before I needed to travel. Talk about a leap of faith!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment