The rationale:

I like to travel.

I like to bake.

I don’t like gaining weight, but I’m willing to take some calorie bullets to bring you recipes inspired by our travels.  That is the cause.

Thus I bring you Calories for a Cause: Travel-Inspired Baking.

The rules:

  • I can only publish recipes for baked goods that originated in countries I’ve visited.*
  • I need not have eaten the food while in the country, but in many cases I have.
  • Baked goods only.  Most of the time this will mean desserts or breakfast sweets, but I can think of at least one savory baked good that I plan to include.
*This is a real shame, because it means that until I get to Denmark, I can’t give you my recipe for Danish dough and all the pastries it makes: bear claws (bjørn klo), mock braid (wienerfläta), pecan snails (sneglar), or Danish envelopes (konvolute).   😦
bear claw pastry
Bear claws.  Grrrr…

The regulations:

This being first and foremost a travel blog, I can’t just give you a recipe.  That would be wrong.  There at least has to be a travel story… maybe a picture or two… at the very least, a link to one of my travel posts.  Who says I don’t know how to self-promote?!

Happy reading!

Happy baking!

Happy eating!


22 thoughts

    1. Thank you! There are two up already. Kinda did things backward. This “rules” post should have come out before any recipes did. It was a page vs. category interface/drop down menu thing that I had to sort out on my blog. This post fixed that problem.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment