Podcast episode 121 is available by clicking below.  It is also available on iTunes, Pocket Cast, and Spotify under the travel architect.

After complaining about our most recent heat wave (the 58th this summer, I’m pretty sure), we learn just how many reasons now exist to call off school for a day. We follow that with a pair of national days that have “the husband” written all over them. I’m excused from the humiliation of thinking up quick responses to Travel Quiz questions—instead, the husband uses that time to reveal the answer and explain the clues to his latest ELC podcast (#30). The bucket list activity gets two instantaneous and vigorous thumbs down, after which listener/reader comments are discussed, as is Airbnb’s dubious descriptions of parking amenities. Then it’s onto a discussion of the first two destinations of our trip: Toulouse and the Pyrenees. Finally, I chat a bit about Australia travel planning and some wisdom I’ve gained from the process, followed by creative ways citizens around the world are telling tourists to buzz off.

Episode 121: Broken English

Previous blog posts referenced or hinted at in this episode:

9 thoughts

  1. I loved hearing about your time in France. We have not yet been to the Pyrenees, but hope to visit soon. I booked an Airbnb in Arles for later this month and specifically looked for one with onsite parking. The owner assured me that the parking is on site, but I’m nervous now based on your experience. We’ll see. You’ll love Australia, it’s beautiful and the people are incredible friendly. Oh, and thanks for the shoutout!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I hope you get there soon – they’re very pretty. Hopefully if they specifically said parking was onsite, that will be the case. I was just looking at what was written on the site and never spoke to the owners about it. I will next time, though!
      Yes, very excited about Oz even though it’s a whole school year away. You’re welcome and thanks for listening.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve got this all queued up for my morning walk tomorrow, but in the meantime, I will commiserate with you about the heat. I hear Minnesota is getting it even worse than Wisconsin this time. At least it’s not humid!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One more day of it – it’s been extended! 😦 This will make more sense to you once you listen to the pod, but the husband’s school did NOT call tomorrow off, so he’ll be spending the day teaching (aka melting) in an AC-less old building. Fun!

      Like

  3. “I’m not late, I just think the rest of the universe is 5 minutes early” 🤣🤣

    Thanks for the shout out on the ELC! I’m glad I wasn’t totally off base. The male waterfowl + the land of fire clues were the only ones I could figure out.

    Okay and lastly, I have a lot of problems with this fake sign thing. Eventually, people are going to figure this out and then when there’s an actual issue, no one will take the warnings seriously. It’s like the boy who cried wolf, the tourist version. What could possibly go wrong?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point about the signs. Also, it might keep people away from that particular landmark or site, but won’t keep tourists out of a region or country. Maybe I’m too sensitive, but signs saying “tourists go home” would actually make me feel bad and rethink where I want to/should travel.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. How sad about the warnings to travelers signs, and yes of course they are directed to tourists if in English. On the other hand, why were you surprised about everything being in French? Typically the French are least likely to engage in English unless you try out your French first. You won’t have this problem in Aussie land!

    Like

Leave a comment