Podcast episode 106 is available by clicking below.  It is also available on iTunes, Pocket Cast, and Spotify under the travel architect.

In this pre-Thanksgiving episode, we talk turkey, but not exclusively—there’s too much else going on for that. In fact, this episode is a lot like a Thanksgiving feast: there’s a little bit of everything and you might feel some indigestion after consuming it. We talk sardines, the length of the Great Wall of China, a travel writing career, Global Entry realities, credit card perks, Christmas letters, the NATO alphabet, and where we should go in 2025. Oh, and somewhere in there the husband inflicts a World Cup Travel Quiz on me. Happy Turkey Day to all the Americans listening and to everyone else because . . . why not?

Consider the Word “Dump”

Previous blog posts referenced or hinted at in this episode:

12 thoughts

  1. I once dreamed of a travel writing career. I mean, who wouldn’t want to get paid to travel the world and write about it? If I can find fun and interesting places in the north woods of Wisconsin, imagine what I could do with Europe or Asia…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How appropriate that we ended up listening on to this one on Thanksgiving! We’re on a roadtrip and were in need of some car entertainment… and Pat was in the car too, so he listened with me for the first time ever. He was very amused and there were quite a few laughs. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What an interesting discussion about travel writing. I’ve had the privilege to be a travel writer for a bit, and I have to say that the part about ‘my body being my workplace’ only applies to travel writers who strike out on their own.

    If you work for a company, you’ll only be ‘working’ when you’re actually on said trips. So you can basically turn off when you’re back in the office doing other admin duties.

    Anyway, thanks for this episode!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, wow. Thanks for that interesting perspective. What the other author said about travel writing took the shine right off, but you’ve put some of it back on. Working for a company would be right up my alley. Freelancing, while full of pluses, almost certainly has many worries and stresses the “company (wo)man” doesn’t have to even think about. Ugh, the things I would do differently if I could go back to freshman year of college…

      Like

  4. Caught up on a few of your episodes while driving from Bentonville, AR to Denver last Sunday. Always entertaining! And I went down a rabbit hole later reading about the length of the Great Wall. It apparently is 13,000 miles, but even after reading 6 different articles about it, I still really don’t understand how. China is only 3,100 miles across, so even with lots of twists and turns and rebuilds, 13,000 miles seems impossible.

    One request/suggestion – can you work on leveling your volume? You are way louder than the husband, and if I have the volume set to comfortably listen to you, I miss half of what he says, especially the ends of his sentences. Or maybe I’m just getting old and I can’t register lower tones like his voice so well anymore. But then your interstitial music is way louder than both of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the feedback, Jen. We are on it. New microphones will be an upgrade to an upgrade, but that’s generally how the husband works anyway (*headslap*). Fortunately for us, we have an Oscar-nominated sound engineer as a neighbor, and it turns out he and the husband have already discussed what we need to get to help with this problem. Hopefully in the new year you’ll notice some more evenness with the sound.

      Like

Leave a comment