They say ignorance is bliss, and they’re not wrong. For the first 12 years of life, I lived the most ignorant of blisses. Until I discovered The Truth.

My mom and I had spent the afternoon visiting my maternal grandmother at her house in a nearby city. We were on the car journey back home when, for some reason, the topic of gray hair came up. I remarked to my mom that even though I hated being a redhead—a genetic injustice I bemoaned throughout my childhood—at least I could look forward to the aggrieved carrot-top’s one saving grace: never going gray.

“Why do you say that?” my mom asked, genuinely puzzled.

“Because of Grandma,” I said like it was incredibly obvious. “She’s a redhead and she doesn’t have a single gray hair.”

(Sidelong pitiful glance in my direction.)

“Oh honey,” my mom said with genuine sympathy, knowing she was about to burst my bubble of naïveté, “Grandma dyes her hair.”

[Insert record scratch.]

What?! You mean there wasn’t even a consolation prize for enduring a lifetime of being different? Of being embarrassingly fawned over by the retirement set—who, it must be said, has a universal love of kids with curly red hair and won’t keep quiet about it—everywhere I went? Of being teased mercilessly by my brother, the only brunette in this family of redheaded children?

Sixth Grade Me had the rug pulled out from under her in that little Honda hatchback that day, but she also gleaned a key lesson: Life is cruel.

Photo by Alexander Grey (no joke) on Pexels.com

Fast forward through my socially inept teen years, my first taste of college freedom, my foray into young adulthood out in the “real world,” all the while receiving messages—some subtle, some blatant, many intended, some unintentional—telling me the importance of beauty and exactly what that beauty should look like. I saw the commercials, I read the magazines, so I knew the rules. They were black and white. They were definitely not gray. (And so deeply entrenched were—and still are—these pressures to conceal the silver streaks of senescence that it took the shuttered salons of COVID lockdown to get my octogenarian mother to let go and let gray.)

Oh no. The double societal sins of graying and thinning.

Enter my 40s. I can’t remember exactly when I noticed the first gray hair, but suddenly my tweezers was my new best friend. Pluck, pluck, pluck. This was accompanied by ouch, ouch, ouch, but that didn’t matter. If pain was the price, I’d take out a loan. Every morning I scanned my scalp for new invaders. Pluck, pluck. Every night I inspected my head for stealthy stowaway strands. Pluck, ouch, pluck.

Yet somehow, through all the plucking, all the ouching, and all the distressing over my traitorous locks, I knew with certainty that I’d never ever dye my hair.

There are several reasons for this conviction, ranging from practical to philosophical:

  1. I hate going to the salon. Life experience tells me I’m in the minority here, but there are few things I like less than spending my free time making meaningless chitchat with a stylist (I’m an introvert, remember) during my precious free time. Simply getting my hair cut is an annoying necessity, like getting gas or picking up a prescription. So imagine doubling down on salon visits. No.
  2. Getting a dye job isn’t cheap, and neither are the My roots are showing! touchups. That’s money that could be socked away for travel. Nice hotels and upgraded plane seats aren’t cheap, either, and I have my priorities.
  3. Medical science still isn’t certain there isn’t a link between hair dye and breast cancer.
  4. I’ve seen good, natural-looking dye jobs, but they are rarely of the red variety. I’ve seen magentas. I’ve witnessed burgundies. I’ve cringed at purplish reds. But they all had one thing in common: like a cookie from the gas station “bakery,” they all had that unmistakable tinge of artificiality.

But the most fervent and long-standing reason I refuse to dye my hair is also the only one that makes my blood boil: the pervasive Western cultural belief that men look dapper and distinguished with gray, but women just look old.

Photo by Gustavo Fring on Pexels.com

For a long time, I believed that the best way I could fight this double standard was to give the middle finger to hair dye, but then I realized I have another tool in my shed: as a schoolteacher, I’m in a unique position—I can influence future generations.

The takeover of my tresses has advanced to the point where plucking is a losing battle—but the onslaught is not yet to the point where my changing hair is very obvious to my 7- and 8-year-old students. In fact, most of them think my (mostly) auburn hair is brown. My ESL students from around the world—most of whom have jet black hair—scrunch up their faces in confusion when I tell them I’m a redhead, at which point I usually summon a nearby brunette teacher to highlight the contrast. Forced to acknowledge the difference, their innocent faces become slightly less scrunched as they slowly nod their murky understanding, eyebrows still furrowed as if to say, “Ok, teacher. If you say so,” while trying to reconcile the so-called “red” of my hair against the crayons and apples they know so well.

Photo by Janko Ferlic on Pexels.com

But these days, whenever I pull my hair back into a ponytail or twist, the grays hidden at my temples come rushing to the fore, like Black Friday shoppers when the doors open, and that’s when the questions and comments start.

“Mrs. Travel Architect, your hair is yellow.”

“Why does your hair look different, Mrs. Travel Architect?”

And my least favorite:

“Your hair looks like my grandma’s.”

My response to these innocent inquiries used to be neutral at best, but most often consisted of a sigh and a resigned nod, coupled with a depressing remark about the inevitability of it all. But the last time this happened, it dawned on me that I could fight the sexist cultural norm by flipping the script, and, suddenly enlightened, my response went something like this:

“Isn’t it cool?! These gray hairs mean I’ve lived a long and interesting life. Each strand is for something meaningful that’s happened to me—traveling someplace new, learning a new language, becoming a teacher, having my heart broken, losing a loved one. There’s one for each of my pets. This bunch here is from when I bought my house. I’ve earned these gray hairs through my life experiences, good and bad. That’s why kids don’t have gray hair yet—you haven’t lived long enough yet to accumulate the experiences, but don’t worry, you’ll get to have gray hair eventually. The older you get, the more your hair changes . . . because of a life rich with experience.”

Good news, kids! You, too, can have gray hair one day, no matter where you’re from.
Photo by Thirdman on Pexels.com

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t want my hair to gray. I long ago learned to love the color I so despised as a youth. But since the chromatic conversion is as certain as death and taxes, I’m endeavoring to make the best of it. And to be honest, the older I get the less I care. In fact, the script-flipping may be having an affect on me, because part of me is even starting to take pride in the change (check back in a few years to see if this positive attitude still holds).

Also, please don’t misunderstand my message. I’m not making a value judgement on other women’s choices about what they do with their hair. But that’s what it should be—a fully free choice, not something insidiously imposed on us via a lifetime of negative, double-standard messaging. Besides, who am I to judge? You may have noticed the tint of hypocrisy with my pluck, pluck, plucking. What can I say? I’m not perfect. But I am in a position of influence, and if I can get tomorrow’s adults to have a better image of today’s gray tresses and the women underneath them—and maybe even aging in general—I sure as hell am gonna try.

55 thoughts

  1. Go you! I can relate to so much of what you say (especially about loathing the necessity of hairdressers and don’t get me started on massages)! I got my first grey hair at 16 and fought a losing battle for the next 40 or so years. I stopped colouring in back in 2018 and it did take me a couple of years to get used to the new me, but now it is business as usual and, as the ol’ cliche says, it is, what it is! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that funny – massages are the one thing I’d happily go to the salon for!
      Age 16? Wow, that’s early. You’ve had a lot of time to adjust, then! We’ll just be a couple of gray-haired ladies hanging out and communing with the roos, then.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your story about thinking that red heads don’t gray cracked me up!

    I used to lighten my hair (I’m a natural lighter blond who has aged into the dreaded dishwater blond color zone) but gave that up when Covid started. It seemed like a good opportunity to see what my hair really looked like. Anyway, despite being in the latter half of my sixties, I still don’t have a lot of gray but I can see it slowly coming. I miss being a lighter blond, but I don’t miss the time and expense. I love how many of us are flipping the script and embracing the beauty of aging. I’m sad that we are still bombarded with messages that tell us that we are more attractive and valuable when we cling to the illusion of youth.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good for you. Super awesome that you’re giving these kids this message. I hope they will retain it forever. It’s very annoying that men can go gray and look good but women cannot, as you say. Then I see couples, like the one you have pictured, where the man is gray but the woman is not, and I think, “Oh, honey, you poor thing. Who are you kidding? Your husband is outing you.” You have me concerned about the hair day/breast cancer comment. Is that just you being characteristically funny, or have you heard rumors?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. When you google the link between hair dye and breast cancer, you get a lot of “mixed results” and “inconclusive.” I actually heard about that link many years ago but it seems they still can’t categorically deny it. Since my mom’s a breast cancer survivor, it gives me pause.

      Like

  4. Well I’m not as ready as you to show my greys yet, although I have many more than you I imagine. I was talking about it with my hairdresser last week actually. He said when I’m ready I’ll also have to change my hairstyle. Just going grey without having the right cut apparently makes all of the difference. Let me know how it goes😊

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not blonde! I’m mousy brown naturally. But no matter what colour I dye my hair it goes blond! Right now it’s very dark so I’ll see what happens! We had to change our trip and are going to Mexico and Guatemala for 3 months instead of Morroco and Portugal. I’ll likely be blond by the end!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I read about your change of plans in someone else’s comments section earlier today (I’ve already forgotten who . . . *headslap*). Three months in Mexico and Guatemala sounds great. Can’t wait to hear your perspective. (Still can’t believe we haven’t been to Mexico.)

        Oh, wait. Was it Latitude Adjustment’s post on Porto??

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oddly enough I have some silver hairs that used to be copper for much of my life. They seemed to turn after prolonged exposure to the sun when I started riding long bike rides. Flaunt whatever you got!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m only 30, but I’ve been getting grey hairs since I was 16 (runs in the family). I still have my original hair color (black), but there’s a good streak of grey throughout my hair. I have at times considered dying my hair to cover the greys, but at the same time, I don’t care enough (and too lazy, haha) to go through with it. I’ve come to embrace the uniqueness of my hair, despite societal pressures we women go through!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, you’re the second person who’s said it started at age 16! I’m too lazy, too. Guess I forgot to mention that – haha. Well, the more you leave it alone, the more you’re really giving the middle finger to hair dye and its underlying message, so hurray for laziness! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve embraced my grey and am sure I’ve earned single strand. I’ve never dyed my hair, ever… so I’m certainly not going to start now. And while I don’t fault those who do, I also wish women weren’t constantly bombarded by the message that only the young are beautiful. Grey can be gorgeous.
    ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. The funny thing is my grey came in so slowly I hardly realized it until I ran into someone I hadn’t seen in years and the first thing out of her mouth was “Omg, you’re so grey!”
        🤣

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I got my first greys a couple years ago and I’ve been living in denial ever since. Luckily my hair is light enough they’re not really visible. But as a fellow salon hater and refuser of hair dye, I really appreciate your perspective here. I’m sure I’ll be fighting a similar battle with myself in the coming years.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Well done Mrs. Travel Architect, for influencing the young minds that gray is gorgeous. I love both red and gray hair; my daughter is a redhead and I’m thoroughly enjoying my gray. In fact, I had a chat with my coiffeuse the other day about cheveux gris. Je l’aime beaucoup. Very entertaining post with your witty humor mixed in.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I know well that going grey can often feel like an emotional roller coaster. A few silver strands? No big deal. But once there’s nothing but grey growing in at your roots, things can feel a little more dire. That’s why I am so delighted to see that there are women who accept those silvery locks. The collective embrace of grey hair is inarguably a good thing. After all, chasing away greys can be as futile, time-consuming, and expensive as trying to locate an actual fountain of youth. Thanks for sharing – as always enjoy your posts! Aiva xx

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I hate going to the salon. Ditto. And right there is how I started down the path to gray hair. I also think that gray hair looks better on me, works with my skin tone better than all the blonde highlights and lowlights I had going on for decades. I look older with gray hair, but I am older so why not be true to who you are? 

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Permit me to say something, if I may: while I enjoy your travel-themed posts – they’re your bread and butter, after all (Travel Architect), and let’s face it, most of the places you visit I’ll only ever see vicariously through your eyes – I really enjoy posts like this. You’re letting us see another (grayer) side of you, and I like it! Plus: If pain was the price, I’d take out a loan is pure gold. As is your Black Friday reference. Well done!

    But you forgot to mention the real reason why getting haircuts sucks so much: chair hoggers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I permit it! Really I do! Thank you, Mark. You’ve made my day. A certain unnamed someone who edits all my posts received those two lines with a shoulder shrug and a “meh,” so I’m glad to see someone enjoyed them. Then again, he’s not a writer, is he? So what does he know? 😉
      P.S How did you get a word in your comment to be italicized? I’ve tried but I can’t get it to work.#betterwithwordsthantechnology

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There’s a feature right here in the comment box that allows you to bold or italicize text. That’s only recently been added; in the past, you had to rely on basic HTML. I always knew how to bold, italicize, underline, and insert horizontal breaks, but that’s the extent of my limited HTML knowledge.

        And, you’re welcome! You’re right, too. What does that unnamed person know about good bad puns, anyway?!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah, I see it now. You have to be commenting from the person’s actual webpage. Those options aren’t there when you comment from the reader (or from the pop-out notifications sidebar). WP used to take you straight to a person’s site when you clicked on their post. Now you’re put in this weird reader limbo place and it requires extra clicks if you want to read the post on their actual site (the way Blogger Nature intended). Drives me nuts.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I really loved this all the way through. I go back and forth about my gray hairs coming in. In one moment, I’m ready to swear off ever coloring it again. And in the next moment I see the awful dirty blond mixed with gray get further down my roots and I’m making an appointment to get it colored. It’s a struggle. I refer to them as my glitter strands to my daughter who will kindly point them out to me because then they are fancy. The struggle is real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Meg. I believe you when you say the struggle is real. And I think it is even harder for people who’ve dyed to give it up because of that long transitory period of letting the gray grow in. But “glitter strands”? I love it! If you decide to stop coloring you could tell your daughter that your “knowledge strands” and “experience strands” are pushing out the glitter strands – haha! In my case, my crows’ feet get lonely and appreciate some knowledge strands for company. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I love this change of attitude! And totally agree with the fact women are judged much more harshly for it, which is ridiculous when it’s natural. But then I suppose the same can be said for a lot of beauty “standards”…

    I haven’t dyed my hair in a while but I want to start again, not just because I’m going grey though – I started getting grey hairs in my 20s! But I’m also now intrigued about the breast cancer link – I thought you were joking but then I saw someone else mentioned it in the comments.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that dye/cancer link can’t be discounted, unfortunately. Aveda has plant-based dyes, but they’re super expensive and, from what I hear, don’t last nearly as long as a regular dye job.
      In your twenties? Oof.

      Like

  15. Preach! I love your life-well-lived approach, and I hope the kids (adults, too) take it to heart. I’ve been teased when my husband spots a few gray hairs on my head, but I’ve always been like, “Yeah. So?” Or, even, “Do you really want to go there?” He’s mostly bald. I’ve never understood why society makes such a big deal of gray hair. I guess it’s the most obvious sign of aging. But, who says that’s a bad thing? BTW, our 4 kids are: dark brown, brunette, dirty blond, and redhead. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I like the idea of influencing a new generation. I dyed mine out of a box for years (quite cheap, actually). Then at some point I realized that almost all the women I knew my age were graying, and attractively, so I gave up putting chemicals on my head, happy to go natural.

    Like

  17. You’re not alone about disliking going to the salon. It’s a chore – not a relaxing outing. And I’ve paid exactly twice to have my hair professionally colored and did not AT ALL think it was worth the price or the time. So you’re also not alone in giving in and going gray!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unrelated, but since I can’t comment on your blog, this is the only place I can tell you this: I’m so excited for your new dog!! Oh, and thanks for the recommendation of 10 Lisbon Stories. I had to get it through eBay, but I got it and found it really interesting. I’m actually interested in rereading a few chapters now that I’ve been and have some context.

      Like

      1. Glad you enjoyed the book. And thank you – I’m loving having a dog again. Weird you can’t comment on my WP blog, but I give up on technology! Looking forward to hearing about your Portugal trip!

        Liked by 1 person

  18. I read that huckleberries can stave off gray hair. Do you think that is true? I hope so, honestly. Must have some hope. The Gifford Pinchet National Forest requires a permit for picking huckleberries. Their website is https://gp.fs2c.usda.gov/gp/ . Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment