Podcast episode 110 is available by clicking below.  It is also available on iTunes, Pocket Cast, and Spotify under the travel architect.

We begin with a joke in honor of that upcoming holiday that people either love to love or love to hate. The national day has double meaning in our house, and is loved whichever way you slice it. The husband serves up a very unloving Travel Quiz that sounds nice on the surface (The Caribbean, ooh) but that basically couldn’t be completed without a visual aid, which I’ve included below so you’re not utterly lost, as I was. Next we discuss some interesting updates from our last pod, reveal the details of our differing Global Entry interviews, share our latest domestic travel booking (hint: it’s not Savannah, but it’s close), and dream aloud about our next trip to the UK while decrying the new hoops I’ll have to jump through to get in. All that and some other bits and bobs and we’re done in an hour. It’s a Valentine’s miracle.

Episode 110: Declare Your Bananas!

Previous blog posts referenced or hinted at in this episode:

9 thoughts

  1. Not Savannah but close, eh? Hmm…is it San Antonio? San Diego? San Francisco? San Jose? Seattle? Sacramento? Stockton? St. Paul? (It’s probably not St. Paul.) Santa Ana? St. Louis? St. Petersburg? Scottsdale? Spokane? San Bernardino? Sioux Falls? Salt Lake City? Sioux City? Shreveport? Salem? Santa Rosa? Salinas? Sunnyvale? Syracuse? Stamford? Santa Clara? Spring Hill? South Bend? Sandy? Santa Monica? Santa Fe? Santa Barbara? Santa Claus? (It’s probably not Santa Claus.) Silver Spring? Schaumburg? Scranton? San Marcos? St. Joseph? St. Cloud? Shawnee? Skokie? Schenectady? Santa Cruz? Smyrna? San Jacinto? Sarasota? Sheboygan? Stillwater? San Luis Obispo? Saginaw? Spartanburg?

    Err, come to think of it, you probably mean geographically close…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A few of those are way too close to where we live now. (St. Paul, Sheboygan, St. Cloud).
      A few of those I’ve been to (San Antonio, San Diego, San Francisco, San Jose, Seattle, St. Paul, St. Louis, Scottsdale, Spokane, Santa Rosa, Santa Fe, St. Joseph, St. Cloud, Skokie, Stillwater, Saginaw).
      A few of those I really want to go to (Salt Lake City, Salem, Santa Barbara, Sarasota, San Luis Obispo).
      But none of them is where we’re going. I meant not only geographically close, but also culturally and historically close as well as aesthetically close.
      Good try, though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So as I was listening, I looked up that WSJ article on airports and definitely nodded along to quite a few of the rankings. Newark, in particular, is one of the worst airports I’ve been to so I felt vindicated to see it at the bottom of the list. Personally I feel like Denver is too high up the list; I’ve mastered it now that I live here, but man is it chaotic (and constantly under construction).

    For Charleston, if you have any interest, the only tea plantation in the US is located nearby and it’s a pretty fun place to tour (and drink/buy way too much tea)!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for listening, Diana! I’ve heard about that tea plantation from another blogger (Running to Travel), actually. We’ll see if we can fit it in. I can’t tell you how excited about this trip! It’ll be so different than what we’re used to.

      And given your description, I guess I’m happy to say I don’t really remember the Denver airport. I think I flew in there as a teenager, but we always seem to drive to CO these days.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for Global Entry! It’s life changing. It’s funny you mentioned Vegas in this podcast because that’s exactly when I listened to it – leaving 2 days in Vegas and driving to Denver. Also – hands down, no arguments the worst airport is La Guardia. Absolute nightmare every single time.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the mention! I can understand that Newark Airport is not popular, especially if you actually want to go to New York and then you have to bus/train there. But I grew up in Newark and it’s a United hub (so is Denver and that’s where I accumulate my miles) and I haven’t had any problems there, and I’m always hoping to run into someone I know from New Jersey. 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment