Suggested PrereadingBobbie the Travel Trailer: An Adoption Story


I admit it. I’m one of those people who tends to anthropomorphize inanimate objects. Not toothbrushes or toasters or garage door openers, but the big things—houses, cars, and certainly Bobbie. 

I feel a sense of guilt and loss whenever I sell one of these big ticket items. Even trading in my old Ford Fiesta (which elicited frequent declarations of “I am never buying another Ford!” the whole time I owned it) brought a teacup of sorrow. Heck, just sending Bobbie to winter camp each year tugs at my heartstrings a bit.

So imagine how I felt signing over the title, officially making Bobbie someone else’s adopted son. Even depositing the cashiers check—an experience that would normally thrill my Inner Saver—brought me no joy. We always knew Bobbie was our “starter camper,” and as soon as we put money down on Bobbie 2.0, that sense of finality intensified. But now that we’ve emptied him of all our worldly camping goods, given him a good clean, and shaken hands with the buyer, I find I’m feeling rather sad.

Will Bobbie miss me, too?

Although our first trip with Bobbie was a “practice trip” to a campground in southern Minnesota, and our final trip—fittingly— was also in our home state, Bobbie’s main function was to help us escape the Midwest.

California’s Lassen Volcanic National Park

Our first “real trip” with the travel trailer brought us to Colorado—the first of many “Bobbie trips” to the Rocky Mountain State—and it was this travel adventure that would cement my love for both our little home on wheels and the town of Leadville.

He accompanied us to both of the husband’s Ironman races, helped us decide against the Oregon coast as a retirement location, and reinforced the idea that we never want to be “cabin people.” He taught us that the US Southwest in summer is no place to camp if you don’t have air conditioning (advice we’ve ignored more than once) and gave us the means to make quick overnight sleeping stops free of charge in Walmart parking lots across the western US (classy!).

So happy, not because he’s almost finished with his 140.6-mile race, but because his aching body won’t have to sleep in a tent.

He gave us a comfortable spot to lay our heads at night or collapse after a strenuous hike, offered a cozy refuge from rain and mosquitoes, and kept us warm and snug on cold nights in the mountains. He provided a place for the husband to cook up comfort food and helped us avoid midnight runs in our jammies to campground toilets, which often have a multi-digit entry code that’s nearly impossible to recall when you’re half asleep and your bladder’s about to burst.

Equally important as all that, Bobbie enabled us to wake up in some pretty spectacular locations, and we don’t even boondock (yet).

So here we are . . . Bobbieless for the first time in 12 years, the hole in my heart matched in size only by the empty spot in the driveway where our little guy should be. We’ll remain in this sorry state for over two more years until Bobbie’s successor is finally ready for adoption. In the meantime, we’ve got some international travel planned for all the summers between now and then when we could’ve road tripped with Bobbie, and the buyers only live 11 miles away. We hit it off with them instantly and they’ve already extracted a promise from the husband that he’ll help with winterization and be available for questions as needed. In fact, I predict we’ll become friends with these people, which means maybe this isn’t goodbye after all. And even if it is, I feel happy knowing Bobbie’s gone to a good home.

Thanks for the memories, Bobbie.❤️


Sad postscript:

We sold Bobbie a week before our trip to Europe was to begin and I wrote this post shortly before we left. However, in the midst of our travels, we got word from Bobbie’s new parents that a horrible storm had ravaged their city, felling a giant oak in their yard that crashed onto their home and into Bobbie, totalling him. Intuiting that we had an emotional bond with our camper, the buyers thoughtfully spared us the grisly photos they’d taken for the insurance claim, and revealed the news to us as delicately as possible. We are very sad about this turn of events, and also sympathize with them as they had been searching for just the right camper for over a year and were unabashedly thrilled to find Bobbie.

They suggested that maybe Bobbie was not meant to be with anyone else but us, and I must admit, we kind of like to think that, too.

Whatever the meaning behind the terrible and undeserved destruction of our little friend, he’s now in camper heaven and we are left behind, shedding a few tears, but also remembering the good times.

Rest in peace, Bobbie. ❤️

54 thoughts

  1. Omg. I wasn’t expecting that sad ending and find myself completely bereft at the thought of a Bobbie-less world.
    One question though… if you have to wait two years for a new camper, which is completely insane… why didn’t you wait to sell your beloved until then?

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Bonjour! I mean, hello! We’re just back from our trip and after I respond to this I’m going to start reading some blog posts! It’s been too long.
      I’m touched that you’re saddened. Seriously.
      Our summer 2024 trip to Australia is set in stone, so we knew we wouldn’t be taking a Bobbie trip then. That just leaves summer of 2025, and though we could take a trip with him then, we kinda want to take all our “must do” RV trips in the new Bobbie. We decided we’d try to sell him this summer (to save on insurance and winter storage fees) and that if he didn’t sell, it would be ok since we could try again next summer. Oh, and the other reason we wanted to give it a try is that the market is HOT right now and we weren’t sure how long that was going to last. We got $50 more for him than we paid for him 12 years ago!! Actually, I remember an old post of yours about your husband (or his friend??) selling an old truck and getting a ton for it because of the market. Wanted to capitalize on that. Anyway, it’s good to be back and I’m off to read your morning’s post! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh no! I was not expecting that ending, that’s so sad 😢 I can only imagine how shocked both you and the new owners were to have this happen so abruptly. I feel honored now that I got to “meet” him before he went off to camper heaven. RIP Bobbie.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Oh, man. Saddest postscript ever. My heart filled with joy when I learned that you had befriended Bobbie’s new parents and basically finagled an invite to visit anytime…only to be torn asunder in one fell swoop. Poor, sweet Bobbie. If it’s any consolation, that falling tree probably came down so quickly, he never felt a thing.

    Just out of curiosity, why’d you decide against the Oregon coast as a retirement location?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Actually, that is a comfort. Thanks.
      The answer, my friend, is wind. I hate wind, and the Oregon coast was SO unrelentingly windy. Locals told us it’s like that all summer and only dies down in fall. That’s all I needed to hear to give the Oregon coast a big ol’ “nope!”

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, no! I’m sorry to hear what happened to Bobbie after giving him away…but in all things considered, you had a great run with him throughout your travels and plenty of fond memories to look back on. Rest in peace!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. This was a painful ending. How sad. So much destruction from weather.

    I attribute human qualities to stuffed animals more than anything — even as a (fairly old) adult, and their presence gives me a sort of longing that I find hard to describe.

    In any event, so sorry this happened.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, we’ll definitely get together with them. It’s on my to-do list: “email Corissa and Mike.” Plus, Mike is a huge Premiere Soccer fan, so at the very least he and the husband will connect over that. 🙂

      Like

  6. Taking notes on what I’m loving the most here. “sleeping stops free of charge in Walmart parking lots across the western US (classy!).” Haha!
    The caption under the running pic about being happy not because of finishing, but because he won’t have to sleep in a tent. Ha!
    I totally understand becoming emotionally attached to objects. It’s a funny thing. When we met the previous owners of our van in a grocery store parking lot, the woman immediately hugged me (didn’t even exchange names first) and said, “I’ve loved this van so much.”
    So sorry to read your postscript! How kind those new owners are you to. “They suggested that maybe Bobbie was not meant to be with anyone else but us, and I must admit, we kind of like to think that, too.” Wow. Very sweet. Sorry for them to have missed out on the use of dear Bobbie.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. How sad to lose such a good and faithful Bobbie but what a lovely tribute to the good times and great adventures that you shared. I am one that feels that kind of deep connection to bigger inanimate objects too like my house and my car. Our car is about to hit 400K and has taken us all over the country. We are determined to get to 500K, but the mere thought of getting a new car makes me a little sad.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Oh no, this is so heartbreaking! I am so sorry to hear that Bobby is gone and that you had to lose him – in a way – twice. Selling is hard enough, especially when you see the new owner drive away. After a couple of days, you start to get over it, but the fond memories remain. A few years ago, we sold our family campervan and it wasn’t until I got the estimate that I felt the sting of separation. Never had I felt so “close” to my car, so irrationally sure that she was a little bit of a person and a good one at that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Funnily enough, we just went to a Christmas concert last night with the couple who bought Bobbie. They have a new trailer now. I hope nothing bad ever happens to Bobbie 2.0 (once we get it) because our bond with that one will be STRONG. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment