I may claim to need travel in my life, but an even greater need is lists, without which I couldn’t function. At work, at home, on busy days, on relaxed days . . . lists keep me organized and help offset my sketchy memory and distractible nature. But I don’t just require lists, I delight in them. Not long ago, Betsy from Parenting is Funny and I were laughing about our indexing inclinations. When she finds out an event is in the offing, she adds it to her list just so she can later cross it off. Me? I complete a task, realize it wasn’t on my list, add it to the list, then immediately cross it off. (For all you Type-Bs out there, both are perfectly normal list-utilization behaviors.)

So imagine my thrill when I found this under the Christmas tree:

To be honest, I actually arranged to be given this gift, but that didn’t detract from the excitement. Back in the fall while shopping for stocking stuffers and Secret Santa gifts, I came across this book—more of a journal, actually—and was instantly intrigued. Alas, in a regretful moment of misguided prudence, I didn’t buy it. But you know how sometimes you pass something up and then you can’t stop thinking about it?

That happened.

Luckily, I knew that if I told the husband about my error in judgment, he would make it right by Christmas morning.

Full of (nearly) every kind of travel list imaginable, it’s a globetrotter’s dream. Most headings have room to record both what you’ve already done and seen as well as what you hope to do and see.

It does have a few lists I don’t want or need:

There’s a page on my blog for this
Heck, I have a whole series of posts on mishaps, and rest assured, none of them involve pooping in an alley.
Staycation? What’s a staycation?

It’s also missing a few lists. I’ve already crossed out Places to Spend the Night and replaced it with Best Hotels/Accommodations, but with only one measly blank page at the back . . .

. . . where am I supposed to record:

  • Colorado 14ers I’ve Climbed/Hope to Climb
  • Castles & Palaces I’ve Seen/Hope to See
  • Hot Springs/Spas/Bathhouses I’ve Visited/Hope to Visit
  • TV & Film-Related Travel I’ve Done/Hope to Do
  • All the other lists I haven’t thought of yet

Clearly some alterations were in order, so this morning—Boxing Day—I made sure to be at my local print shop the second it opened. Now here I am, a mere three hours later, experiencing the joy of receiving once again with my now spiral-bound journal containing a dozen extra pages for lists of my own making.

Before I go and start filling in my lists, allow me to wish you a happy Boxing Day, a belated Merry Christmas, and a prosperous, travel-filled New Year. And may the joy of making lists and crossing off their items be strong and never-ending!

54 thoughts

  1. You are a woman after my own heart:
    “I complete a task, realize it wasn’t on my list, add it to the list, then immediately cross it off.” THIS IS ME! Even on “relaxing” days! Another reason why I like you so much!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. It’s hard to believe that the book’s creators didn’t think to put several pages of DIY lists in the back… but your solution is brilliant! I’m a big list maker too and often add items so they can be checked off. Since I am also a procrastinator extraordinaire, I enjoy relishing in the joy of actually getting something done. Happy Boxing Day!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Oh my, we are kindred spirits. Like you I cannot function without lists, and also add items not on my list once they’re done just for the satisfaction of crossing them off. This book looks like a great gift, and useful too. I hope you have a happy new year!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Happy boxing day.
    I mainly do list of things to do at work. At home I am more relaxed and don’t do them regularly.
    It is a nice book to record everything you have done. It will be great to put a photo of everything you cross in that travelling list to have a souvenir.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. We are so alike it is scary!! I have lists of lists and even Christmas Day was operated according to a list, including timing of each food item etc! 🙂 Yes, I am sad individual, but don’t forget your travel-inspired-cooking list! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you both. Melx

    Liked by 3 people

  6. This is absolutely me in so many ways. I often will write things I didnt put on my list before I did them so I can cross it off. And I know when my anxiety is high when I start putting things like ‘take a shower’ or ‘eat breakfast’ so I can find catharsis is crossing something off. This looks like a fantastic purchase that I need to seek out and get. Thanks for the great idea!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Wow – you’ve taken Type A a bit further than I do. I will admit to writing “exercise” and “change litterbox” on each Saturday list, even though they are regular parts of each Saturday. Like you said, it’s cathartic and rewarding to cross them off! I hope you get this journal – you’re an excellent candidate for ownership of it!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Item 1: Inspire a blog buddy’s post–sort of. And crossed off!
    So honored and surprised by the mention! (Take that, Mark!!! Kidding.)
    What a perfect book for you! (With some alterations.) “Pooping in an ally?” and a nasty image to accompany that? Really?
    But so fun for you, and happy that you got what you wanted and made it easy for Hubby to know what to get you!
    Yay lists!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are an inspiration, Becky!
      Yeah, I could come up with about 100 different travel mishaps and none of them involve bodily fluids. Couldn’t they have just shown, I dunno, a rental car with a flat out in the desert, or maybe someone getting on the wrong flight and flying to Timbuktu instead of Tallahassee?
      “Yay lists!” – I couldn’t have said it better.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. ”I complete a task, realize it wasn’t on my list, add it to the list, then immediately cross it off.” – I am so relieved to see that I am not the only one doing it!! This is such a fun Christmas present! It would provide a great opportunity to reminisce about past trips and dream about future possibilities.

    Liked by 3 people

  9. I love a list, and this would be the perfect one for me! Yes, I’ve made lists of places I’d like to see (and cross them off once I’ve visited), but never anything so professional and beautiful as these lists. Worth a go!

    Liked by 3 people

  10. So funny! I actually ‘get’ adding more personalized pages to your book, but to actually go to a printer and have them spiral bound into the book takes it to a whole other level! My book would likely be filled with sticky notes of things I want to add, but never had professionally done! Merry Christmas, Happy New Year to you both (and the cat and bunnies)

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I knew I’d be in and out of it so often the binding would soon break! Didn’t think I’d get back my new and improved listography so quickly, though! I’ve spent much of today working on it and it’s a lot of fun. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you guys, too, and thanks for remembering the “kids.” ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  11. This would have been such a great one for me as well – the satisfaction I get everytime I cross something off a list…with anything in life, from travel, to work and personal tasks. I also like to write lists by hand as well, it gives me an extra kick 🙂 I’m sure you’ll have so much fun personalised this little journal!

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Oh my goodness, this is the gift I never knew I needed. I too always have lists upon lists upon lists. Who knew I could have them all bound together in the same place? Looks like I’ve just started next year’s Christmas list! (See what I did there? 😉)

    Hope you had a wonderful holiday, and wishing you and the husband a happy new year!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Haha! Good one. 😉
      I’m impressed you can wait a whole year! I was going nuts just waiting the 3 hours that it was getting spiral bound. I’m actually working on it right now. I’m working my way through all my travel journals to jog my memory. I’m currently on “England/Scotland 2004,” so this is going to take a while. Good thing it’s so much fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. *None of them involve pooping in an alley YET. (Hey, maybe on your next staycation!).

    God, the thought of TWO Betsys out there boggles the mind. You guys together in the same room would be something else.

    You know how sometimes you pass something up and then you can’t stop thinking about it? Yes. That was Tara! She made me wait three long days before agreeing to date long-distance!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ll admit that I’ve already included a bathroom-related incident in my new journal, but it wasn’t in an alley and it will never go on my blog. NEVER!
    I hope that one day Becky and I can have a meet-up like the one we had. If it’s near here I’ll be sure to invite you and you can join us. If you dare.
    Tara likes to let you know who’s boss. I like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Totally understand the list-making. Rather than delete them off the list, I use X’s to mark my accomplished tasks on my NOTES app on my phone. That way I see how many tasks I have completed & how many are left to be done, lol. Inreresting book – worth a look! Happy 2024!

    Liked by 2 people

  16. I am a Lady of the List. I even thought about writing a blog solely dedicated to my lists and the joy that comes from the crossing off an item on said. However I realized that it might be best to keep my lists private, and just allow the joy of having done something wash over me without the need to record it for all to see. Still…

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment