I admit it—when I told the husband he could pick anywhere in the world to spend his next milestone birthday and he came back with Australia, my response was tepid. There was never anything wrong with the Land Down Under; it just never floated my boat the way other places do. But now that I’ve read all the books and blogs, watched some slightly dated travel DVDs from the library, exchanged several emails with my Australian blog buddy, and spent hours and hours on the web, my tune has changed.

I’m officially jazzed.

Here’s a rough sketch of what we’ll get up to:

Days 1-3: fly on airplane

Because of the time difference, it’ll actually be “only” 24 hours in transit, but due to the nature of non-first-class airline travel, it’ll undoubtedly feel like three days.

Days 3-6: Sydney

We’re staying in the neighborhood known as The Rocks, so we’ll be close to many things we plan to see and do: The Sydney Opera House, The Harbour Bridge climb, a harbour dinner cruise, the National Maritime Museum, Chinatown, and much more. Because we’ll be there in Australia’s winter, there won’t be any chancing of life and limb with ocean swims, but we’ll still head over to Bondi beach to brave some chilly laps in the ocean-adjacent pool.

Photo by Belle Co on Pexels.com

Days 6-8: Perth

It’s a full five-hour flight across the continent to Perth, so we’ll really just have an evening followed by a full day in this lone western metropolis. We’re staying in Perth proper where there’s a treetop walk and a little island in the Swan River with a colony of kangaroos I’m hoping to spot (and befriend). But we’ll also be spending a good part of our one full day in neighboring Fremantle, where there’s an outdoor market, another maritime museum, a shipwreck museum, and an old prison that offers tours. My biggest worry on this side of the continent is that we won’t have time to do it all.

Photo by Rachel Claire on Pexels.com

Days 8-11: The Indian Pacific train from Perth to Sydney

This is the first of two BPWABPs (birthday present within a birthday present). While some may find endless days trundling across the desert to be a prison-like hell, I’m anticipating this will be the most relaxing, least stressful part of the trip. We’ll have nothing to do but gaze at the scenery, eat what is reported to be very good food, drink Australian wine, play cribbage, backgammon, and cards (we travel prepared), enjoy four “off-train experiences,” and chit-chat with other passengers (most of whom, I predict, will be Australians, and thus, listening to their dialect will be part of the fun).

Photo by Sabel Blanco on Pexels.com

Days 11-14: The Blue Mountains and Mudgee

After being deposited at Sydney Central Station, we’ll pick up our rental car and drive to the Blue Mountains west of Sydney. We’ll arrive in the dark, so the next day we’ll explore the Katoomba/Leura area and then make our way to Mudgee for a blog buddy meet up with Mel from Life . . . One Big Adventure, where she’s promised us some some wine tasting. I’m hoping to see (and befriend) lots of kangaroos in this neck of the Australian woods, although, concerningly, Mel tells me her region has the dubious distinction of being #1 in accidents involving car vs. kanga, so we’ll be reluctantly shelling out for the maximum level of insurance at the rental agency.

Don’t hit me.
Photo by Ethan Brooke on Pexels.com

Day 14: Back to Sydney

This will be a full and busy day. We’ll zip back to Sydney (as much as one can “zip” a four-hour drive in the mountains in winter), return the rental car, drop off our luggage at the hotel where surely it will be too early in the day to check in, train it back to The Rocks to stroll through their big weekly market, and finish with a wine and charcuterie tasting that’s part of our Go City® Sydney Card before retiring to our airport-adjacent hotel where we can watch planes take off and land from our room. Talk about packing it in!

Photo by Rijan Hamidovic on Pexels.com

Days 15-18: Uluru and the Red Centre

This is the other BPWABP. We’ll fly three hours to Yulara, the town a few miles from Uluru (formerly known as Ayers Rock). We’re staying at Ayers Rock Resort, which is the only accommodation available in these parts unless one wants to stay at the luxury Longitude 131 (we do) and pay AUD $4400/USD $2829 per night (we don’t). We’ll of course visit the iconic monolith, but there are also lots of other experiences the resort offers that we’ll get to enjoy pay extra to enjoy.

Photo by Jonas Schallenberg on Pexels.com

Days 18-19: Ulura back to Sydney

Like with Perth, we’ll only have an evening and the following day back in Sydney. In fact, this final full day in Sydney was put in place specifically as a buffer day. Because it’s literally half the cost of a Qantas flight, we’re taking Jetstar Airlines to and from Uluru. Jetstar does not—I repeat, does not—get good reviews for reliability and efficiency. Since the idea of missing our flight home due to Jetstar’s ineptitude fills me with dread, I embedded this buffer day should the airline live up down to it’s reputation. We’ll spend this day squeezing in anything else we didn’t get to see and do at the beginning of the trip. Or maybe we’ll just collapse on our hotel bed in exhaustion.

Photo by Julia Sakelli on Pexels.com

Day 20: fly home

We’ll have many hours of discomfort in the airborne sardine can, which I’ll surely spend longing to see the pets, fondly reminiscing about our southern hemisphere adventures, and, I predict—provided I don’t think too much about the rattling sound our three remaining pennies are making in our travel piggy bank—planning our next trip to Oz.

73 thoughts

  1. Wow. That’s quite the itinerary and will certainly force you live up to your blog name. It all sounds wonderful but…. I don’t see any time set aside for the meeting of a wombat which seriously disappoints me.
    😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve never been one for set-ups or blind dates. I prefer to meet people naturally. I’m hoping it’ll be same for wombat encounters. Also, you can blame my blog buddy, Mel. It was either go up to her (north of Sydney) or go down to Bendeela Recreation Area and Kangaroo Valley south of Sydney. If you’d like to lodge a complaint, her blog is Life . . . One Big Adventure. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. What an epic itinerary! Australia is such a huge country, and even with almost three weeks, it still looks like a packed plan. Never been to the Land Down Under, so I’ll have to live vicariously through your adventures. Have lots of fun!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh my gosh. This sounds AMAZING! I’m very impressed with your trip-planning research and skill. Though, I have no idea why that could be remotely surprisingly given the NAME of your blog and all. I feel like I ought to bookmark this so I can hopefully someday repeat it just about exactly. Especially the befriending of kangaroos and hopefully not having a game of chicken with them on the road. Backgammon, on the other hand, I’d be down for playing with a kanga.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’m so flattered, but after all the car hassle from our recent trip to Europe, maybe it’s better if I go to Australia first and then blog about it so you can know for sure if putting your undying faith in my travel planning abilities is a good idea. (It’s probably not a good idea.) Who knows what trip-planning foibles I’ve made that I don’t even know about yet?! Eek!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, that’s quite the long trip! I don’t have a huge overwhelming desire to visit Australia either, but I have to admit, your carefully plotted itinerary does make it look appealing. Just be careful around the kangaroos. My mom’s most famous travel story is that time she got bit by a kangaroo in Australia. Thankfully it wasn’t serious, and she ended up with a hell of a story to share!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Like you, Australia was always low on my bucket list, but for at least 10 years my husband traveled there on business twice a year; he racked up thousands of frequent flyer miles and had amazing experiences as well. He made friends and was included in family gatherings when he was there on holidays. One couple became great friends and even traveled to the US for our daughter’s wedding. So on his final trip there, I figured I better tag along. It was amazing. The people, scenery, snorkeling, everything has left a lasting impression on me. You’re going to have a blast!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I very much love everything about this itinerary, especially as you included the Indian Pacific train from Perth to Sydney and Uluru and the Red Centre. I coudn’t be more excited for you, guys to seee and explore this wonderful part of the world. Somehow, just like you, I never really had a real desire to vist Australi, but now , after reading your post, I changed my mind. Cheers. Aiva xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It really looks like so much fun, and not having the language barrier to deal with, along with only a teensy bit of driving, will take some of the pressure off. Not that it will be a relaxing trip, but certain stressors will be reduced. I’m glad to have nudged you into positive territory where Australia is concerned, but let’s see how you feel after my posts come out – haha. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, I’ll be first to admit that Australia is one of the most naturally stunning locations in the entire world. But, and it’s a very big ‘but’. Just as the fact that all of the most delicious food is bad for you, apparently living in a tropical climate is not without its drawbacks too. Given that this glorious landscape is home to some of the deadliest animals and the nastiest critters in the entire world where spiders play a key role, it’s a big no for me – I’ll just quail in the face of such natural dangers. While I can somehow manage European spiders, there’s no way I am ready to face the Huntsman or the notorious Redback spider.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, all the dangerous creatures – big and small – give me pause, too. I’m hoping that by going in Australia’s winter, some of that will be minimized?? I want to go to Costa Rica, too, but they have some scary creepy-crawlies, too. My friend had a very dangerous spider in her Airbnb down there.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well, you just have to seek immediate medical help for bites from a funnel-web, mouse, redback or white-tailed spider and, as my friend from Melbourne suggests, catch the spider and take it with you to the hospital so that medical staff can identify the species and quickly administer the correct treatment. Once you’ll live to tell the tale, nothing else matters.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Or we could just simply shift our focus from those creatures who are ready and waiting to pounce and instead ponder about how mesmerised you gonna be about the iconic kangaroos, the stunning plumage of their native birds, and the elusive platypus.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, you do exaggerate! We are actually only #2 in NSW for car/kangaroo collisions! 😉 And we currently have a mother wallaby and her baby dining on our front lawn…or what is left of it! She may have her next offspring by the time you arrive. 🙂 Actually we also have wombats in this area, but as they are predominantly nocturnal, they are not as easy to see. We will be seeing you soon though!

    Liked by 3 people

  8. I was very excited to see this post because I’ve been toying with planning a long trip to both Australia and New Zealand… maybe two months total? I really hate the thought of being stuck in a plane for that long so maybe a stop in Hawaii and Figi along the way? Anyway, maybe it’s just a pipe dream. I’m currently watching The Tourist on Netflix… my only advice to you is: don’t pick up any hitchhikers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, two months sounds dreamy (except I’d miss the pets too much). You’re lucky – you’d only have to go LAX to SYD (about 15 hours, I think). We get to tack on MSP to LAX. 😦 It’s definitely a long distance, but compared to our SE Asia odyssey (about 32 hours in transit and 3-4 legs) it’s actually looking equal parts unbearable and doable to us. (Stopping in Hawaii or Fiji sounds great, especially with so much time available to you.)
      First class MSP to SYD was $10-12,000… PER PERSON!! Definitely out of the budget of two teachers. We’ve gotten Premium Select, which is Delta’s highest level of economy. We took this on our way over to SE Asia and it was pretty good. Better than coach, for sure.
      We are actually on the last episode of The Tourist. No hitchhikers, and we’ll try very hard not to drive at night, but as my post said, we may have to do about 1’20 in twilight/darkness. It’ll be in the suburbs/mountains west of Sydney. I hope kangas aren’t mountain-dwellers!
      Oh, and I do hope you go on your amazing trip!!

      Like

  9. That is an amazingly well detailed itinerary!! I could take a page or two in planning and detailing my travels plans from this.

    I actually built an AI app which helps find travel destinations inspired by filming locations of one’s favourite movie. Sydney came up in a lot of movies list so I searched this and came across your post.

    This post is a job well done ✨💯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me, planning is half the fun. Thanks for the compliment, but this is nothin.’ I just finished a 4-pager for our Portugal trip that has everything grouped by location and distance from our hotels and includes charts of everything we could possibly hope to see, all color-coded with hours of operation and days they’re closed, etc. (Making a chart in a Word document is about as techy as I get.) I think I could probably sell it to people who want to go to Lisbon and Porto but hate planning. 🙂

      P.S. I’m in awe of people who get tech and you seem at the top of that list.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is truly a powerful skill to have. Without a doubt a well detailed document like this packaged on Gumroad website will sell like hot cakes.

        I genuinely think you should give that a try. It has value from the sound of it, all you’ll need would be traffic 🙂

        Appreciate the fact that you liked my techie nerdie post/comment.

        Like

  10. Wow, this sounds like it’ll be an amazing trip!!! That train journey is supposed to be fantastic. And seeing Uluru would be wonderful – it’s the one thing I can’t believe we didn’t end up doing while we were in Australia!! I think it was just the cost when we had so many other plans, but it is the one regret I have. Also for what it’s worth, we never had issues with Jetstar – they were like the easyJet of Australia/NZ (Tigerair were the Ryanair, and they went bust a few years ago, which says a lot!). We even flew internationally with them, to NZ and Hawaii. Wouldn’t recommend them long-haul, but they were fine for NZ! That said, I’ve noticed since Covid almost every airline is having issues, so it’s a good idea having the buffer regardless. Hope you have an AMAZING time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! We’re really looking forward to it. We had to book that train journey a year and a half in advance or risk it being sold out. You can’t be too hard on yourself about Uluru. There is so much to see in that country (as you know and as I discovered once I started looking into it). We’re hitting some great places, but still missing so much. I guess you’ll just have to go back!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. This looks like a packed itinerady! Such a massive country to squeeze in but sounds amazing!

    We’re excited to visit Australia ourselves, but have a feeling we’ll end up doing less 😂

    Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a great article. Enlightening and a bit humerous. I spent two weeks in Sydney and the adjacent beach town of Manly many years ago. I loved it. You’ve inspired me to plan another go. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Exciting! Three weeks sounds like a decent duration for a trip to Australia. I may have to wait until we can teleport there 😉 because I would feel so bad about leaving our dog at home for such a long time; we have been limiting our travels to about 10 days lately.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Portugal was only 8.5 days – not enough time in country, but I did ok with missing the pets. Last summer when we did France & Andorra for 3 weeks, I was having serious pet withdrawal. It’ll be the same with Australia, I fear…

      Like

Leave a comment