After our stressful, chaotic, life-shortening Christmas trip to England, we’ve sworn off international travel until we can come and go without COVID tests and other pandemic-related restrictions. So far, America remains married to its re-entry testing requirements despite the fact that several countries—backed by the WHO—are abandoning their test-to-enter rules due to their reported ineffectiveness at curtailing COVID’s spread, and despite pleas from just about every sector of the travel industry.

Both the WHO and The Who (possibly) are against test-to-fly requirements. Source: rollingstone.com

Ergo, we’ve looked within our own (thankfully far flung) borders for travel inspiration this year, and I must say, inspiration has been achieved!  Here’s a rundown:

Spring—the season of solo travel. When we “take the waters” in my home state we’ll probably bicker endlessly over whose spring break was better. Shortly thereafter the husband will jet off for his first visit to The Geriatric State Florida to watch people drive cars.

  • spring break bikepacking in southern Arizona (the husband)
  • spring break hiking in Sedona, Arizona (me) This is when the husband will finally get his first taste of cat litterbox duty (note: it ain’t pretty).
  • spa weekend in Baden-Baden Wisconsin (together)
  • long weekend in Miami, Florida, for the Formula 1 race (the husband)
We’re hoping the husband’s second attempt at solo desert bikepacking will be more successful than his first.

Summer—a return to our humble roots as we camp, hike, cycle, and soak our way around north central Colorado, after which I will glam it up a bit with my mom on my first trip to San Diego. (Bonus: another break from poop-scooping duty.)

  • Colorado hot springs trip with the Bobbie (together)
  • San Diego (my mom and me)
Bobbie rested in the driveway last summer while we flew to California for our catsit. He’s now ready for some adventure.

Fall (*tentative*)—not sure yet how I feel about this one. Then again, I somehow achieved Silver Medallion™ status with Delta® for 2022 (the husband says it’s down to the new hues sprouting from my head) and I should probably maximize travel while I have its rewards and privileges . . . and can lord it over the husband, a lowly, non-metallic SkyMiles™ member.

  • Austin, Texas, for the Circuit of the Americas Formula 1 race (together, but I won’t go anywhere near a motorsport event)
No thanks. I’ll be poolside if you need me. Source: http://www.circuitoftheamericas.com

Winter—the season of tinsel-trimmed cacti and Speedo™-clad Santas?

This is how we usually experience Death Valley. How delightfully odd it will be to visit in winter.

And that, folks, will be a wrap . . . on both a great year of travel and, most likely, my Silver Medallion™ status. 😦

We want to resume international travel as much as anyone, but until the planning, prep, and execution stops turning my hair gray silver, the lower 48 will be our playground.


Now over to you: What are your 2022 travel plans? Are you willing to go abroad yet? Is your hair turning silver?


And because this post has generated several comments from people marveling that our travels are all planned out for the coming year, I’ll direct you to this post:

How Far Ahead Do YOU Plan?


**May Update**: Forget Austin in the fall.  I’m now trying to convince the husband to do Savannah, Georgia, instead.  Wish me luck!

69 thoughts

  1. We’ve just had our first post-pandemic flight to Dubai. Return was better from a paperwork standpoint due to Covid changes in Europe but we are intending to venture across the pond in May!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh, I envy you all that travel. Sadly my husband still doesn’t feel comfortable with the idea. Sedona is so gorgeous. There aren’t many places I ever want to revisit but that’s one of them. So many places to explore!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Aw amazing, I can’t wait to follow your US adventures. We are UK only until May (we went to Denmark a few weeks back) when we head on a road trip through Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. In June we head to Bologna and San Marino, then July we go to Carcassonne in France and August we head to Luxembourg, Nothing planned for the autumn yet but November sees us off on our first long haul since 2019 to Mexico. Fingers crossed they all go ahead, especially as the UK is now relaxing testing 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Oh that sounds like a great year of travel ahead for you! We have credit from our canceled trip to Germany that we have to use this year, but we’re not sure where we can go. Our hang up on where to go comes from what requirements there are for kids to travel. Some places say that anyone over the age of 2 must be vaccinated and have a negative covid test and also have no symptoms of anything. That’s tricky when she’s in preschool and they all live in symptoms that they share with each other. So we will see if international travel is in the cards or not this year.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Just reading your comment got me all stressing out again. I had a moment of weakness the other day and looked up our favorite resort in Jamaica, but though they try to make it easy with regards to pandemic requirements, it’s all just too overwhelming. I hope you can use your credit!!

      Like

  5. Woohoo, sounds like a great set of travel plans (though I do hope you don’t encounter Santa in a speedo…)! We’ve got a few things planned. I’m flying to MN for spring break to visit my Grandma. Then Montana in June for another road trip with my mom. Pat and I are (finally) getting married in July, and then I recently booked hotels for Thanksgiving week in New Mexico. Like you, we are not bothering with any border crossings. Lots of things to look forward to for both of us!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. First, congratulations on your pending nuptials! How exciting! I’m not sure when your spring break is, but if you have time when you’re in MN, give me a shout. Perhaps we can meet up, especially since it sounds like you might be in MT when I’m in CO. All your travels sound fun and a lot less stressful than overseas right now. Can’t wait to read about them.

      Like

      1. Oh that’s right, I’ll be in your neck of the woods! I’ll only be there for 4 days but if I have some free time, I will let you know! It would be great to see you guys in CO too if it works out. I’m only in MT for 9 days so hopefully there will be some overlap.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Sounds great! But I can’t believe you’ve planned the entire year already! We’re not sure if we’ll go international somewhere or drive to Canada’s Yukon. I’m pushing for Yukon but we’ll see how that battle goes. Can’t wait to read about your trips, except for the car racing thing, I don’t get it.😊 Maggie

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I’d push for the Yukon, too. That would be fun to read about (but then again, so would any international travel). As for race car driving, I know! That constant whining noise of the engines is like fingernails on a chalkboard.

      Like

  7. Ooo, that’s a pretty interesting thing that you’re turning domestic. And I’ll bet there are a ton of places to visit in the US, since it’s so huge. Looking forward to see how things turn out! Your husband’s solo desert backpacking trip does sound like an adventure too!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Wow, I’m impressed with the 2022 travel line-up! Sounds like you’ll be busy going all over the country, but I’m sure you’ll have a blast. I still have my international trip booked for this November (although we’ll have to see just how the year goes with COVID and possible changing travel regulations), but I also intend on spending a long weekend next month in central California for my birthday. No other ideas yet, but we’ll have to see! PS despite that I’m still in my 20s, I have plenty of grey hair– it’s genetic! XD

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know lots of people are looking at fall for international travel and crossing their fingers. I’ll be crossing my fingers for you all and hoping I can follow suit in 2023. I’m very intrigued by central CA and look forward to your write-ups. Hey! Maybe you can get Silver Medallion status, too – haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like a fun year full of travel plans! Can’t wait to follow your adventures this year. I’m also sticking to mostly domestic trips this year with maybe 1-2 international trips (COVID-depending). But I feel like my hair is about to go gray/silver as well! My husband and I are trying to plan a trip to Ireland with a travel voucher that’s going to expire in September! Between all the back and forth with airlines, travel companies, and confusing COVID regulations, we’ll see how it goes!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you – I can’t wait to get started! They really should extend those travel vouchers for cancelled trips. It’s not that easy to just up and rebook an international trip. I was very glad when Delta extended any e-credits (which the husband had in spades after he got stuck in London and missed his flight back to the US) by an extra year. Good luck with your travel planning. I know the stress well.

      Like

  10. Right now I travel mostly to New York where my older daughter, her husband and my grandson live. They are moving closer to me though. Yay! I want to (finally) get to Ireland.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is that NY city or NY state? I’m sure it’ll be wonderful to have them closer. I haven’t been to Ireland, but one of the bloggers I follow on WordPress, called Our Crossings, lives in and blogs all about Ireland. She has very useful information. Thanks for the comment.

      Like

  11. Oooh, sounds like a fun-filled year! I have to say I’m a big fan of Formula 1 so I would totally be up for those trips, haha.

    We’ve got a pretty action-packed year planned. Off to Malta this month, then Portugal in June (it was meant to be Norway but YET AGAIN we had cancelled bookings). Most excitingly, we’ve finally risked booking our honeymoon for August/September – our African safari!!! Unbelievably excited, however once again with everything going on I’m a bit scared of what’s going to happen. And it’s not even bloody Covid this time.

    No Japan yet, but hoping for next year! Fingers crossed.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wow, just look at all the fun adventures you have in store for 2022! Sounds pretty exciting! COVID-19 may have squashed overseas travel plans but it doesn’t mean you can’t escape for some fun with your family. I am wishing to throw everything away and jet off on an aeroplane to somewhere far far away because I am getting tired of posting throwback vacation photos, which seems a silly complaint given that there’s still pandemic and war between Russia and Ukraine, but I can’t seem to help myself! I can’t wait to read all about your travels on home turf! Aiva 🙂 xx

    Liked by 2 people

  13. That sounds fantastic! COVID has made it extremely difficult. My girlfriend and i lived in Mexico for six months and we are now living in Cordoba, Argentina. Covid meant so many getaways that should be so easy were immensely difficult – a visit to Belize entailed about 4 hours of having pcr tests done, waiting for the results, filling out never ending health declarations and getting to Argentina was also immensely difficult. travelling is wonderful, but sorting out pcr’s and different countries conditions of entry make it a real headache at the moment – that is definitely why this year we have stayed fixed to a place when we go away haha. I hope your travels are fantastic as I’m sure they will be!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yeah, everyone I’ve talked to who’s traveled internationally during COVID has stories to share of hassles, trials, and tribulations related to pandemic restrictions. Such a pain. And now we have this uptick in cases due to the variant of the variant. Seems prudent to stay domestic. Thanks for your well-wishes and the same to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Like you, I always plan way in advance. Right now I’ve got my plans made for almost this whole year. I’ll become a grandmother in July, so I’ll be going back and forth from western Colorado to Denver at least once a month, every month, through the summer. Additionally, I’ll be visiting Antelope Canyon in June, Crested Butte in July, Grand Sand Dunes and Southern Colorado in August, taking in the Colorado fall colors in September, and visiting The Grand Canyon, Northern Arizona, and parts of Utah in October. Whew! There’s more, but I can’t even begin to plan for it all yet.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, you are so lucky to live in Colorado. It’s my favorite state. I even write a post about Leadville: https://thetravelarchitect.wordpress.com/2019/07/04/an-ode-to-quirky-leadville-colorado/
      and several posts about our road trip out there during the first pandemic summer (which included some of western CO). In fact, Colorado is one of my biggest tag words on the blog! Your plans sound fabulous. You’re so close to everything! Oh, and congrats on your future grandmahood!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment